Crawford's CEVC Primary School

Together we care, inspire and achieve


Assessment procedures were nationally overhauled in both Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2 to reflect the changes to the national curriculum, which was introduced from September 2014. The new standards are aspirational and are significantly higher than those in previous years.


EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage) Baseline

In September 2016, the Department for Education was due to introduce national testing for all Reception-aged children in England. The purpose of the 'baseline check' was to assess each child’s level of development at the beginning of their formal schooling in order to measure how they’ve progressed by age 11. 

In summer 2016 the baseline check was put on hold, indefinitely, and schools have been instructed to continue to complete the Early Years Foundation Stage Profile (a broad assessment of your child’s abilities in all areas of their learning and development) for the 2016-17 academic year, pending further decisions about assessment in Reception.


Key Stage 1 (end of year 2)

At the end of key stage 1, teacher assessment will be informed by externally set and internally marked tests in the following areas:

  • Reading
  • Mathematics
  • Grammar, punctuation and spelling

Other National Curriculum subjects, including English writing, speaking and listening and science will be assessed by your child's teacher based on their work throughout the year.


Key Stage 2 (end of year 6)

In the summer term of 2018, children in Year 2 and Year 6 will take the new SATs papers. The new-style SATs for English and maths reflect the new national curriculum, and are more rigorous than previous years' tests. There is also a completely new SATs marking scheme and grading system which has replaced national curriculum levels.

In May, Year 6 children will sit tests in:

  • Reading
  • Maths
  • Spelling, punctuation and grammar

These tests are both set and marked externally, and the results are used to measure the school’s performance. Your child’s marks will be used in conjunction with teacher assessment to give a broader picture of their attainment


Ongoing Teacher Assessment in the Classroom

Both teacher assessment and testing are important methods to ensure that every child makes their best possible progress.

From Years 1 to 6, pupils are assessed using the Tilian Assessment Without Levels (AWL) system, which enables assessment to be reliably and consistently tracked, predicted, monitored and evaluated. The assessment system extrapolates key objectives from the 2014 National Curriculum. This enables learning to be appropriately planned for.


Please see the Tilian AWL Standards below: