Crawford's CEVC Primary School

Together we care, inspire and achieve

Early Years

The youngest children in our school follow the EYFS Curriculum throughout their first year at school. This curriculum consists of three prime areas and four specific areas. The prime areas cover the knowledge and skills which are the foundations for children’s school readiness and future progress, and which are applied and reinforced through the specific areas..

The Prime Areas:

  1. Communication and Language
  2. Physical Development
  3. Personal, Social and Emotional Development.


The Specific Areas:

  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Understanding the World
  4. Expressive Arts and Design.


Children following the EYFS Curriculum work towards achieving the Early Learning Goals by the end of the academic year. Emphasis is placed on structured play activities and children are given ‘exploring time’ to develop skills and positive attitudes. Adults support each child’s learning through exploring time and through teacher led activities whilst ensuring children are suitability challenged. Children are encouraged to follow their interests and develop characteristics of effective learning. We provide fun activities linked to the children’s interests in an exciting learning environment.